culturshock

sizing up media, technology, and society

Blog Updates

with one comment

Hey everyone

I’m just dropping a quick post to give you the heads up about a few of the site changes that I hope will not only make navigation a little easier, but also provide you with a few ways of accessing the content that has piqued my interest recently.

First off, I’ve noticed so far that I have been a little long winded in posts, and while that may change, I have chosen to implement page breaks. This means that for each post I make, only the initial chunk or an introduction will be found on the first page. This doesn’t mean less content, although it does mean that I insist you put in a little bit more effort and click the Read More at the bottom of said chunk in order to get access to the rest of the post. Also, I (mostly) expect that embedded videos will make their appearances after the jump, as to speed up load times of the site. There will of course be the odd attention grabbers that will make the front page, but I will keep these to a minimum. I feel these changes will help make the blog speedier and easier to navigate, so I hope you enjoy them!

There’s more changes to read about, but it’s time for a test…

You made it! Congratulations and thanks for sticking it out.

In terms of other changes, I have added RSS feeds to the main page of both my Digg and YouTube channels. These will update with links to articles and videos I feel are either relevant to a post, our discussions, or just caught my interest. I will make an effort to embed relevant videos, but they will always be available to you by visiting my channels. Note: both feeds only display my most recent activity, but my entire digging/youtubing history is available by visiting the full channel by way of the title of the feed (i.e: jmccoubrey’s diggs) or by clicking the orange wave icon next to it for a lightweight and to-the-point RSS interface. I think most web browsers today support RSS feeds so if you have any problems, just let me know and I will help you out!

That’s all for now, but in the near future, look for a post on my information habits and a (possibly collaborative) post on facebook! (Hint: check out the new sidebar for a sneak peak)

jon.

Written by jon.

January 25, 2008 at 2:24 pm

Posted in Updates

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i like how you’ve organized your work and that you’re thinking about how to maximize the efficiency of your blog (an extension of how you’re already thinking about media consumption?).

    just a general comment: if you’re going to post an onion article or a video on your page, i’d like to know what you think about it. these posts can be as short or as long as you want them to be; so long as you’re providing some context as to why they’ve been included on your page.

    keep writing,
    i.

    Ian

    January 28, 2008 at 4:42 pm


Leave a comment