culturshock

sizing up media, technology, and society

First post!

leave a comment »

Hey everyone, and welcome to Culturshock, a blog for THST*2450: Approaches to Media Studies, taught at the University of Guelph.I hope to get the content on this site up and rolling shortly. On the incoming list I have a mammoth introduction to me, Jon McCoubrey, including some generic personal details and history, my ideas and my (current) areas of interest.

Hot on the trail of these posts, I will be jumping into a discussion of my upcoming presentations with Felicia, Dave, and Andrew next class (Week 3), where we will be considering the progression of media technologies in the past decade, how they impact the experience of the information consumer, and the kind of implications this trans-media progression holds for the citizen of the future.

Stay tuned!

jon.

Written by jon.

January 16, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Posted in Updates

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a comment